Tashe's Blog


TOW 2: You can never be too careful
January 26, 2010, 7:15 pm
Filed under: PRCA 3330 TOW

I read today’s Grammar Girl’s blog post: Readers Share Their Funny Errors. I learned that everyday people make common spelling errors. Grammar Girl made an error in one of her e-mail newsletters and was horrified, so to cheer her up people shared their embarrassing spelling errors. I was really surprised that even the most intelligent business person makes errors on important documents and send them out to people to read. Even after he or she has used the spell check the error is not caught. Some of the most common errors is adding or leaving a letter out that creates another word. For example, the word public relations can go in the wrong direction simply by leaving out the letter “l”.

I have made mistakes similar to the ones mentioned in Grammar Girl’s blog. After reading her blog I learned to ALWAYS read your work out loud and never fully rely on spell check.

I would like to know more about what to do if you make a mistake on an important document, how to fix it. Do you write a letter of apology or do you just send a revised version, or both?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I listened to the same clip. I also felt really surprised that many professionals make mistakes on different messages or documents. Listening to her clip made me realize that reading out loud is probably the best way to have an error free document. I rarely do this but I guess now is the best time to start!

Comment by ale604

[…] Tashe’s Blog […]

Pingback by Comments « An Le




Leave a Reply

