Tashe's Blog


TOW 7: One week of Twitter
February 22, 2010, 5:55 am
Filed under: PRCA 3330 TOW

This week we were assigned to create a Twitter account and update it throughout the week and then blog about our  experiences.

I have heard all the benefits of Twitter such as: businesses use it to tell their customers about special events or sales, college students can follow their professors, friends can use it for enjoyment and follow each other, fans can follow their favorite celebrities, PR practitioners can follow PR firms or other PR practitioners on the latest PR news, events, or problems. All of the people who I know that use Twitter are students in college who use the website as a social networking place to update people on their day-to-day activities instead of using it for productive beneficiary reasons.

We were assigned to send at least 20 tweets this week. I was not able to send 20 tweets because it was hard for me to think of something interesting to tweet. I didn’t find any helpful PR news that I wanted to share to my followers or any questions that I needed answered. Most of my tweets consisted of little known facts to just provide food for thought. I tweeted about Tiger Woods also because he was the biggest influence of PR this week. Tiger was everywhere this week after his press conference. He was all over tv, on the radio, on magazines, in the newspaper, on tons of blogs and headlines, and the conversation of most people in America.

I followed all of the Tweeps that were recommended by Professor Nixon and they in return followed me too. This was somewhat intimidating because I knew that I couldn’t tweet “silly thoughts” or what I did during my daily activities like most of my peers do. I felt like I had to tweet important serious Public Relations-type of information (and when put on the spot I couldn’t find any).

All in all, I was not thrilled with my week of Twitter. However, I am not giving up and I will continue to follow and tweet often. Hopefully, the more I use Twitter the better I will become and then I can truly benefit from it the way that it was meant to be. I plan to follow some of my friends and celebrities for a little enjoyment. I also plan to continue to follow the PR practitioners that I currently follow (and new additions) and hopefully learn something from them.

My Twitter

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

