Tashe's Blog


More FREE Rice Please
March 8, 2010, 3:19 am
Filed under: PR Connections

Years ago I heard about a website that gives a quick vocabulary quiz to its viewers and for every right answer Freerice.com donates 10 grains for rice to countries in need. I found this to be amazing at a young age and told all of my friends, friend’s parents, and teachers about it. I am very happy to see that this website is still available and is still continuing its promise.

Freerice.com is non-profit and its goal is to give rice to those in need. I think this website is amazing because first, it educates you and expands your vocabulary while making an effort to end world hunger. A quote from their website says, “Whether you are CEO of a large corporation or a street child in a poor country, improving your education can improve your life. It is a great investment in yourself.” I completely agree with this statement.

I understand that people are skeptical about donating money to commercials, websites or telethons, however, with freerice.com both parties benefit with NO money from your pocket. If I have not stated enough, I think that this website is AMAZING. Although, I do not think that enough people are aware of it. I think that they need help promoting this special website more. Someone on their PR team should write a news release about it. There should be a commercial, or radio ad for it or anything to get the word out. In the year 2009 participants and freerice.com donated 43,942,622,700 grains of rice!

I have freerice.com as one of my homepages so that I can always remember to quiz myself several times throughout the day. I have honestly caught myself using some of the vocabulary the I learned from this website!

Their ending statement says, “Somewhere in the world, a person is eating rice that you helped provide. Thank you.” Who wouldn’t want to broaden their education AND help world hunger? I know I do! TRY IT!

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have never heard of this website! This is amazing, as you said. Freerice’s PR team really needs to start putting ads in magazines and on TV. I agree with everything you said in this post. This is for such a great cause, and everyone could always use a little update on their grammar. I will definitely tell my friends and family about this. My mom loves grammar so she will honestly just be thrilled about the quiz. I wonder if there is a way that we can help to spread the word on campus? There are actually many websites like this where you just have to do something small to make a big difference! I’ll look into it.

Comment by laurynwilliams

[…] Check it out!  […]

Pingback by Friendly Little Comments « Lauryn Williams's Blog

I am so glad that you brought this site to people’s attention. I have actually heard about this website before but really did not give it a second thought, because I also consider myself to be a skeptic about things like this. It is good to know that it is legit and that you have been doing your best to promote a good cause in a simple way. I will definitely check it out and try to help your effort of spreading the word about it. It is nice to know that there are truthful and helpful things like this set up to solely benefit those in need.

Comment by Caroline Rawlins

[…] view the post. […]

Pingback by Caroline’s Comments « Caroline's Connections to Public Realtions

I heard about this website a few years ago and totally forgot about it until I read your post. I agree with your post because I’m always skeptical about giving money to unknown websites, and the fact that you can see how many grains of rice are donated by you alone gives me a sense of making a difference. And considering how poor our vocab is as a nation, I think this is a site everyone should bookmark on the computer and visit at least once a week. Where else can you help feed people and brush up on your own vocabulary at the same time.

Comment by kristinabundy

Wow. That sounds like a wonderful site. I had heard of sites such as the one you mentioned, but I was always skeptical as to if the sites did as they said and actually donated the promised items. I will certainly check this site out. I’m also planning on buying a ‘Loads of Hope’ shirt form Tide. Tide will match the price you pay for the shirt and then they send all proceeds to aid Haiti. It’s always nice to see large corporations give back when they have the money to do so and most of them have the money to do just that. Sadly many companies still choose not to help.

Comment by Martine Howell

[…] More FREE Rice Please, Graves, […]

Pingback by Blog Comments « PR Social Media & Writing

When I read this PR Connection, I felt an overwhelming joy that people in the world are still doing great things even as little as donating grains of rice. Americans forget about the worth of food that others do not have because we are so consumed with our own lives. But this websites takes that into consideration because they are helping our ego and competitive minds to try and expand our vocabulary and by doing so a person all the way around the world, is being fed because of it. I will definitely notify my friends and family also about this website because I believe you when you say it is a good cause and not just a scandal. Maybe you could try to reach out to them by sending the organization an e-mail giving them tips about how to market their website. I really did enjoy reading this post and can only hope that more people participate in this cause.
-Sarah Gricius

Comment by sarahgricius

[…] Link: https://tlgraves.wordpress.com/2010/03/08/more-free-rice-please/#comment-24 […]

Pingback by Sarahgricius's Blog

I heard about this website a long time ago from one of my friends, but he’s kind of an unreliable source so I thought he was just kidding. I’m so glad you posted a blog about it and shared your experience with it! I’m definitely going to try and start using this website daily! Thanks!

Comment by mlong331

Wow cool! I have never heard about this website before and what a great cause it benefits! It really goes to show how much we take for granted in this country such as, food and the ability to receive an education. This website gives people the opportunity to help people without committing a lot of time which can appeal to people who are really busy, but want to contribute to a cause! I am definitely going to this website right after I leave this comment to show my vocabulary skills and help out a great effort to make a change!

Comment by carriebethabramson




Leave a Reply

