Tashe's Blog


5 Steps to Story Telling TOW 14
April 21, 2010, 1:06 am
Filed under: PRCA 3330 TOW

I recently took the NewsU course, Five Steps to Multimedia Story Telling and I learned a tremendous amount of information about multimedia story telling. I was not even aware of where to start. I imagined that it was just like writing a news story but I was wrong, there are several differences.

I learned how to:

  • Identify the elements in a multimedia story
  • Understand which stories are more suitable for multimedia
  • Sketch a concept for a story
  • Identify tools needed to gather content in the field
  • First, you have to choose a story, A good story is one that is interesting and has several visual elements such as graphs, video, strong quotes, and audio. Once a story has been decided you must create a story board and organize the information and brainstorm how you want the story to look to the readers. Once you have made your “rough draft” you have to work to making it come to life.

    I was most surprised by all of the basic and technology needs that a reporter must have on hand. I would have not thought to bring the instruction manuals to the equipment that I use in case of a question arises. Another thing that I would not have thought to bring would be duct tape for quick emergency fixes or rubber bands to keep your cords and cables in order when filming.

    I want to learn more about the actual technology of how to put the actual multimedia story online. I am not technologically savvy and I would like to learn more. In the NewsU course the reporter had help with loading her material on to the web. The reporter recommended using website making templates and simply inserting your graphics, audio, still photos, etc into the desired spots. She said that she used a lot of Photoshop as well. I would like to become more familiar with the software, Photoshop.

    I enjoyed this course because it showed me a whole different side to reporting.

    Leave a Comment so far
    Leave a comment



    Leave a Reply

