Tashe's Blog


Blogging=Love
April 28, 2010, 2:43 am
Filed under: Personal

I would just like to talk about my beneficial blogging experience this semester.

I will admit that at first I was not excited to have to blog this semester. I have never had a desire to create a blog because I did not see the point in me having a blog. Previous to this class I felt that I did not have anything important to blog about or anything worth reading. I always thought that blogs were for people who were already PR practitioners or business people or simply common people sharing their opinions. Several of my friends and family members have blogs but they mainly contain posts about what they did that day/week or posts (rants) about what they like or dislike or a negative experience that they had. Since I am not a PR practitioner, I did not feel the need for me to have a blog to use it as a “diary” for the public to read.  However, my perception of blogs could not have been more wrong.

In this class I learned that blogs can be used for more than professional purposes and common folk opinions. Blogs are useful to help you network with other people with the same interests as you. The most helpful website is PR OpenMic, it is a social network just for people interested in PR. The websites allows insight and information on current Public Relations topics which is important if you’re interested in PR because you need to stay up-to-date on the latest topics. PR OpenMic allows you to also network with PR professionals which could in turn land you a job. If networking with a PR professional does not work then there is a section that is exclusively for people seeking jobs,internships,co-ops, and volunteer work. I could go on and on about all of the opportunities that PR OpenMic has to offer.

I am so happy that Professor Nixon introduced us to blogging and stressed their importance. I recommend blogging to everyone no matter what major or what interests you have. Blogging can be beneficial to all types of people if used efficiently. I can’t even list all of the interesting information that I have learned simply from blogging. I plan to continue to use my blog after this class for PR OpenMic, to discuss PR topics with others that are interested, to keep in touch with students from the class, and yes, even for personal blogs from time to time.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

